Confession: I’m a Hooker (and proud!)

Welcome to my confessional. Yes, I am a hooker. I got started when I was in college and I haven’t looked back. Hey, you have your hobbies, I have mine. I mean, it’s addicting! Looking up new techniques, scouring Pinterest for inspiration, making things for my friends and family for fun and profit…This would probably be a good time to mention that by “hooker” I mean “I crochet”.

I love it! It’s very calming (when I don’t run into massive tangles, that is) and it gives me a sense of accomplishment whenever I finish a project (especially when I’ve used a new stitch or finishing technique). I taught myself how to crochet through YouTube videos and a skein of really terrible yarn. No one I knew could help me, in fact I taught my mum. My first project (and several after that) was the simple, dignified Granny Square blanket. Just one big square of fuzzy warmth. Since then I’ve come a long way and I thought I would share my latest creation with you 🙂

So I made a lacy Christmas angel for my mum for her birthday which is coming up fast. My sister and I usually buy her an angel every year but times are a bit tough this year so I thought I would make her one instead. The original pattern is here and is by Lora Johnson. I tried my hardest to stick to the pattern but I much prefer visual ones so mine is wearing a big ball gown instead of the classic cone shape. Not sure what I did, but I find it beautiful. Anyhoo, this is my first lace project that I’ve actually been able to finish. My patience has improved!

collage

So here are all of my pieces. Pretty darn proud! The angel seems to be able to hold itself up well without needing to be starched or anything, so I thought about leaving it be. In the end, though I went with the cornstarch method. Again, trying to master new techniques!

collage_20141120153024087_20141120153053402And here is everything throughout the starching process. I didn’t really have anything perfectly shaped like I wanted for the angel to rest on but I found a water bottle lid on top of an old candle container worked surprisingly well. Pro tip: USE PLASTIC WRAP. I tried this on a little patch to see how it would work if I didn’t and it took a lot of persuasion to get it off the glass. Plastic wrap just makes things so much easier.

And that’s my latest creation! Sorry I don’t have any finished photos, it’s still drying. I’ll post the assembled angel when it’s dry!

Leave a Reply

